Skip to main content

PhD Theses

Juri Banchewski will defend his PhD Thesis on 17 December 2020 at 11 am!

The PhD researcher Juri Banchewski from the Superconducting Materials and Large Scale Nanostructures (SUMAN) group at ICMAB will defend his PhD thesis on Thursday, 17 December 2020, at 11 am in an online session. The PhD Thesis Defense will be held by videoconference from the ICMAB Meeting Room.  Register here to attend the PhD Thesis defense via Zoom. 
Anna May
30 November 2020

Transient Liquid Assisted Growth of YBCO Superconducting Films: Growth Kinetics, Physical Properties and Vortex Pinning

by Juri BanchewskiSuperconducting Materials and Large Scale Nanostructures (SUMAN) group

Date: Thursday, 17 December 2020
Time: 11  am
Venue: Online session from the ICMAB Meeting Room. Register here to attend the PhD Thesis defense via Zoom. 

Abstract: High temperature superconductors (HTS) have been driving research and development programs for about three decades now and are on the verge of entering large scale utilization in the form of Coated Conductors (CCs), a robust and flexible tape architecture that enables textured growth of the rather brittle material class. A remaining bottleneck for widespread CC implementation is the high cost/performance ratio, essentially controlled by the complex and decelerating step of HTS layer growth.

In this thesis, we challenge the throughput and cost constraints of conventional growth methods through development of a novel growth technique that combines Chemical Solution Deposition (CSD), an inherently low-cost precursor deposition approach, with a high growth rate, non-equilibrium growth scheme that allows the formation of a transient liquid phase prior to crystallization of the final product phase: Transient Liquid-Assisted Growth via CSD (TLAG-CSD). We have successfully implemented the new process to fabricate YBa2Cu3O7–δ (YBCO) superconducting films, a cuprate-based HTS material with unmatched current carrying performance.


  • Prof. Teresa Puig Molina, SUMAN group, ICMAB

PhD Committee:

  • President: Prof. Bernhard Holzapfel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • Secretary: Dr. Joffre Gutierrez, ICMAB-CSIC, Spain
  • Vocal: Prof. Salvador Ferrer Fabregas, Alba synchrotron, Spain

University: Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB)
PhD Programme: Physics

Hits: 2283